remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Salem photos [Saturday, Nov. 10, 2007, 6:06 pm]

So I finally got my photo thing taken care of. Most people should be able to view my facebook album even if you aren't on facebook:
http://umaine.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2104496&l=a1f36&id=5814719

Most of them are Salem photos. A few are from USM, like the ones of Robie Hall, and the hill during the morning when it was foggy. I'd really like to do more photographing of this hall, when I get the time and motivation. I brought my tripod, so I can do the inside too.

The best part about Salem, for me anyway, was the graveyard from the Witch trials era. It was just amazing seeing graves that were over 400 years old. We also found a row that was basically a long stone wall with large slab stones sticking out of it, and those had the inscriptions of the dead on them. Apparently they believed that if someone was a witch, they had to be covered in stone or they would escape.
So I took a few photographs of the inscriptions, and noticed several names that were used as characters in the Arthur Miller play, "The Crucible." There was also an enormous tree in the middle of the graveyard which definitely looked like a hanging tree.

For fun, we also got to see the statues of Nathaniel Hawthorne, and Samantha from Bewitched again. We also went to the "Witch Dungeon" (no photos unfortunately), which included a re-enactment of one of the trials. And then we stopped by the New England Pirate musem. That was amazing... I only posted one photo, but there were a lot of life-like pirate models. The best part was at the end... there was this cave-like corridor we had to go down to get out, and as we were walking around one corner, we heard some guy ahead of us scream... the thing was, we couldn't see what he was afraid of because it was around a curve, so the 3 of us were pretty much clutching each other and inching along... basically it was this big treasure chest with a "dead" pirate sitting behind it. Only he wasn't dead... he sat very still and then moved forward a little bit every now and then, but it was life-like enough to tell that it was a real person, not some robot.

It sounds so pathetic describing it now, but we were freaking out. Wouldn't that be the best job ever though? Just sitting there dressed up, scaring people as they come around the bend...

Maybe in a few weeks I might actually finish the roll that my Newsboys photos are on.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009