remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Michael Jackson [Monday, Jun. 29, 2009, 7:22 pm]

It's always a big deal when an icon of American culture passes away, and I suppose there were few still living with the power and musical influence that Michael Jackson had, and obviously still has.

I feel sorry for him. I think a lot of people do. He had a horrible childhood, and yet he seemed to rise above it for a time, but those things will always catch up with you if they aren't dealt with properly. I don't think he's been in the news this much since the trial.

I remember that - the media circus. At least he isn't around to experience it all over again. And there are always opinions going around about whether he did it or not. I know you want to hear mine. Not. Well, this is my blog, so that's what it's for I suppose. I don't think he did "it", but at the same time, he did have some wacked out ideas, and plenty of issues of his own as we all know. But was he on trial for those?

My opinion about this really doesn't matter one bit, nor does anyone else's. I wasn't at the trial, I didn't read the testimony, I didn't study the facts. If people who were involved in the investigation don't even know the truth, then the rest of us sure as heck don't.

But that's what our media-crazed society encourages us to do - form opinions based on headlines, images, short articles and out-of-context quotes. Not only to form opinions, but to pass judgment and make sweeping generalizations from these jumbled pieces. I do it too, and I'm not proud of it.

I'm just saying that yeah, there are horrible people out there who commit horrible crimes, but there are also gold-diggers who will latch onto anyone they believe they can extract money from. There are also situations that kinda fall in the middle.

So ultimately, I feel bad for Michael Jackson, and appreciate the changes and enthusiasm he brought to music. He seems like an average shy, quiet sort of person with immense talent, who was just pushed to do more than a human being could reasonably be expected to carry, emotionally, physically, etc. I especially feel bad for his kids right now, being caught in this bloodsucking tug-of-war. I just hope they can end up with someone who cares more about them than money.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Cats - Wednesday, Sept. 09, 2009
I am not a humble person - Saturday, Aug. 15, 2009
Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009