remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Elegy for Spotty [Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009, 8:49 pm]

This is my eulogy for Spotty, my family's 11-year-old white rooster who outlasted most of our pets, and then reportedly met his demise at the hands (paws) of a fox. R.I.P. dear chicken, and if there are birds in heaven, I'll look forward to hearing your mid-morning crows again, since there will be no alarm clocks up there.

If there has been a humbler bird, I do not know its name,
though many have attained a level higher than your fame.
You were content to bear such feathers, white as paper, ages-old,
and daily search the ground for food, though it be warm or cold.

This pecking round the yard for bugs remained your top desire,
and a faithful crow at 10 a.m. still never made you tire.
In fact, it soon became quite clear that time remained your friend.
How sad that after all these years, mere time was not your end.

Your death brings many thoughts to mind - immortal stars above;
yet old, eccentric chickens are still worthy of our love.
For rooster though you were, no one would ever call you haughty,
And thus I say in truth: humility, thy name is Spotty.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

I am not a humble person - Saturday, Aug. 15, 2009
Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009