remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Right before... [Monday, Nov. 19, 2007, 11:38 pm]

Yes, I will change this layout eventually. Patience, patience.

I'm more than ready for Thanksgiving break. I've put off laundry for the past 2.5 weeks, until I can do it for free at home. I think I'm going to need 2 containers to hold it all. I even got socks at Wal-mart so they'd make it through, but I needed new ones anyway.

I have three major things due right after I get back: A revision of my second short story, which was well-received, and I know basically what I want to change, just not exactly how to do it. Then there's a paper on Marie de France, which should probably be okay as long as I take sufficient notes on the book, and organize it well.
Then... yeah, see, there's this professor who I don't think lives in the real world.

I was warned - I read up at ratemyprofessor.com, but the subject matter was just too interesting - I had to take it. It's become a class in which I feel I never really had a legitimate chance to get an A, and that really frustrates me. I just don't know what he wants. Which leads me to believe that he doesn't really know what he wants from us either, because guidelines are so unclear, and assignments don't seem to reflect the most important things of the course. He just has no emphasis or order to things whatsoever... it's very annoying. So I'll need some clarification before I start on this next assignment. I just want to do well. I'm not afraid to do work, but it's absolutely pointless if he doesn't make it clear what he expects us to do. And then he acts like it's our fault when we question things... Ugh.

Anyway. Sorry for the sob story. Let's lighten things up by saying that I've been really privileged to take a class with Maine's poet laureate this semester. Betsy Sholl is one of the most down-to-earth professors I've had. She's very intelligent and experienced, but when I talk to her I don't feel like I'm talking with someone high above me. This class has been a great contrast to the first poetry class I took, because that one focused so much on meter, and while I definitely appreciate being taught all that, I needed more focus on free verse - so both of them combined have definitely taught me a lot.

Okay. Time to sleep and then attend my last day of classes before break. My late-night class tomorrow was canceled. Hallelujah!

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009