remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The Village, and good old Nomar [Sunday, Aug. 01, 2004, 7:53 pm]

Went to the movies today. My dad, brother, and sister (Dorothy, not Em the scardie-cat ;-) all saw Spider-man 2. I'd like to see it too, but our youth group's going to the movies on Wednesday, so I can see it then. So I decided to see something different today:

The Village

One reason was because I read that it didn't contain anything objectionable, as far as language and sex, and another reason is because I've heard from two people (on the internet of course - I have no life) that it was very good.

I'm certainly not a 'horror movie person', and I'd never seen a suspense/thriller movie before, so it really creeped me out. Much more so than Pirates of the Caribbean did. It was scaaary. Even if I watch it again there's still one part that I'll be covering my eyes for (Noah...stabbing...*shivers*).

But I still liked it. The acting was wonderful, especially the girl who played Ivy. And the twists and turns that the plot takes were unlike any movie I had ever seen before. And the idea behind the story intrigued me. I've already described it to most of my family members, but I won't spoil it for anyone who still hasn't seen it yet.

Note: don't watch it if you have serious problems with stress - it ain't easy on the nervous system.

Anyway, in other news, I opened our newspaper this morning to be greeted with the smiling visage of my favoritve baseball player, and the horrible, aggrivating news surrounding him:

The Red Sox traded Nomar Garciaparra!!!!

How COULD they?? He's the best thing that ever happened to them, and us fans know it!!

That's it, I'm not a Red Sox fan anymore - I'll cheer for the Cubs now. Although, the Cubs haven't won the world series in 96 years. And for the Sox it's only been 86. Poor Nomar - his prospects haven't improved much.

It's all the fault of that young, inexperienced general manager that the Red Sox hired a few years ago - I knew he was trouble the minute I set eyes on him! Actually, I thought he was kinda cute, but...

No, I'm not really giving up on the Red Sox. But this is a mistake. A BIG mistake - and it bugs me so much... I love you Nomar! *sob*.

All right - I'm sure this is making NO sense to those of you who aren't New Englanders (nor to those who are, probably), so I'll stop for the day. Hope you all have a good one.

*Laura*

Ivy: "Why do you not speak what is in your head?"
Lucius: "Why do you speak everything that is in yours?"

-The Village-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009