remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Relativity [Monday, Aug. 02, 2004, 8:09 pm]

Yesterday I stayed after church a few minutes for the first Awana leaders' meeting of the year. It was brief, but one thing I got out of it is that there really aren't as many leaders as there should be. It looks like I'm going to be helping out with the K through 2nd graders.

I'm also planning to continue with work through the school year - at least at first, to see if it's going to work out. Because I really like the job, and the people there.

And all that on top of school. I really hope I'm not biting off more than I can chew this semester.

My mom is pushing me to get my license this month. I've completed my 35 hours, finally. I still remember the first day at driver's ed (over a year ago), the owner of the school was talking about our time logs and stressed that "35 hours is the minimum you should get." Oh well. I suppose I've dilly-dallyed too long already. And I still haven't practiced parallel parking for 15 months. *sigh*

So the way it looks to me, I could conceivably get my license before school starts, if I get it on my first try. Which isn't very likely. I'm sure my mom won't have a problem with driving me to school at first, but trying for my license again will be harder once things get more hectic.

Oh well - it's not the end of the world, one way or the other. Funny how things look different when you relate them to others. At any given point in my life, I'm sure there'll be some issue going on that will stress me out - not because it's a major thing compared to others, but just because it's a major thing to me personally, at the time.

When our country was first attacked by terrorists on Sept. 11th, it felt like the world was ending. But it wasn't. Nowadays it seems like we've all but forgotten that it was terrorists who first started this war.

Now the Oklahoma City bombings look pale compared to Sept. 11th. And yet both of those tragedies are nothing compared to the lives that were lost during the Civil War, which took place over 100 years ago.

It's all how you look at it...

*Laura*

"Put your hand on a hot stove for a minute, and it seems like an hour. Sit with a pretty girl for an hour, and it seems like a minute. THAT'S relativity."

-Albert Einstein-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009