remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Eyebrows [Saturday, Jul. 31, 2004, 2:28 pm]

War is a heavy topic, isn't it? So I think I'll lighten things up today by talking about something - lighter.

Eyebrows.

As an oddball, I really don't follow teenage fashions too closely - I don't know what's "in" or "out", and could care less, generally. So I don't understand where all this business of girls butchering up their eyebrows is coming from.

Actually, they call it "plucking". Apparently the goal is to reduce their lovely eyebrows to nothing but a pencil-thin line of hair. And I'm not talking about girls with exceptionally bushy eyebrows, or monobrows. Their eyebrows were perfectly normal before this mutilation took place.

In case you haven't figured it out, I don't see the point of eyebrow plucking. For one thing, it's painful. Even waxing hurts pretty bad at first. It's also tedious, and time-consuming. (Yeah, a girl who spends hours on the internet each day is talking about 'time-consuming').

I really think most girls I know aren't doing this because they need to, or even want to (Who could want to?). I think they somehow feel that their eyebrows were inadequate. Which is sad. Why do girls think everything has to be skinny???

My mom told me this story once - she was talking to a man from, Iran, I believe, and asked him what kind of beauty traits are in style in Iran. He gestured across the tops of his eyebrows and said, "one". That's right, monobrows are in style in Iran - that should cheer some people up.

It's funny how females do these strange things to ourselves, based on what's "in". I don't do the eyebrow thing, obviously, but I'm certainly not immune from the general idea. Did you know that in some countries, such as Mexico and India, it's a sign of wealth if a woman is obese? And that they've had a problem with some women taking steroids meant for animals, to increase their bulk? What a contrast from us Americans!

Sometimes I've wondered how much more us females could accomplish if we weren't so focused on our looks. I'm guilty of it too, in some areas - I guess it's just a natural part of who we are. Not always a bad thing, but something that shouldn't be allowed to get out of control.

*Laura*

"For the great majority of mankind are satisfied with appearance, as though they were realities and are often more influenced by the things that seem than by those that are."

-Niccolo Machiavelli-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009