remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

A homeschooler's graduation... [Friday, Apr. 02, 2004, 10:52 am]

Not everything is well in the world of color tetris. In case nobody knows what that is, well, it's a lot like normal tetris, just different. And me and my dad have a little rivalry going on. See, I got the high score of 376, and stayed on top of the list for quite a while. Well, a few days ago, my dad got a 377. But then yesterday I was able to have the best game I've ever had, and got 378. I was so excited. But then my dad comes home from work, plays a few games, and gets a 379! Come on! All my "hard work" down the drain! *sigh*. I'll try for 380, but it's not going to be easy.

In case it wasn't already explicitly obvious, I'm really not doing much at the moment. My mom has decided to take today off school, but I'm still doing a few things to stay on pace. Speaking of school, I found out that the private school I'm getting my highschool diploma from is having its graduation in late June. Surprising, cuz I thought most schools have graduations earlier than that. But that means I have to get my final schoolwork evaluation done by late May. Which is good, cuz I'm on track to do that, and I'd originally thought I'd only have until mid-May.

To be honest, the whole prospect of graduation really doesn't excite me that much. Especially the whole part about getting up in front of a ton of people. See, it wouldn't be so bad if I had friends, but since I don't 'go to school', I won't have any friends to graduate with. Just a bunch of people I've never met before. I remember I went to my friend Ian's graduation last year, and I think they had a lot of fun, because everyone who was graduating knew each other, and they all had cameras and were taking pictures with their friends, etc. But I won't get that experience. Most of the people graduating from this private school are from all different age ranges, countries, etc. And I won't know any of them.

I suppose the only advantage is that I won't have to cry over the fact that I'll be parting with friends after graduation. I won't be missing anyone, or having to say goodbye to good friends or favorite teachers. But still, the whole prospect of graduating like this seems kinda lonely. There isn't even anyone in my homeschool group that's even close to my age. *sigh*. See, if it was my choice, I wouldn't even want to be part of a big graduation ceremony, or wear the silly gown & cap, but my mom says, "I didn't teach you at home for 13 years to just say 'oh, here's your diploma' at the end of it!!" Ok, I guess I see the point. Still, I think it'll be lonely.

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009