remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Madagascar [Monday, Jun. 27, 2005, 7:40 pm]

Well, to help beat the heat, I took my little brother to the movies for his birthday today. He turns 9 on Wednesday, but I'll be working both Tuesday and Wednesday, so I did it today instead. He wanted to see Madagascar. Personally I wasn't dying to see any of the kid movies out currently, so I let him pick ;-) Needless to say, it didn't excite me that much. Some animated movies have been wonderful, and extremely funny, but I didn't think Madagascar was all that funny. Well, at certain points it was. But overall it really wasn't. Just because most of the actors in a particular are known for being in funny movies doesn't mean said movie will be funny.

See, according to Groucho Marx, there's a big difference between a real comedian, and a comedic actor. Some people are just funny all the time. Humor is a part of their personalities, and even when they tell mediocre jokes, they can make them funny just by the way they tell them. To a true comedian, a script is simply raw material with which they can work.

On the other hand, some people are comedic actors, who can be very funny when they have a very funny script to work with. But then, if the script is lacking, their performance will be lacking as well, because they're just actors. That explains why you can assemble a cast of comedic actors who may have been in very funny movies, and still end up with a, um, sub-par movie in terms of hilarity. But my little bro liked it, so I guess I can't complain too much. Besides, it's different when you're only providing your voice to a movie.

I still don't think Ben Stiller is very funny. I saw him doing some promotional thing for the movie, and talking about how funny it was going to be, and yet he wasn't very funny himself, even though he was trying to be. He has the funny "look" in his eyes, but I guess it just all depends on the script.

Oh well. "Funny," is a relative term anyway, isn't it?

*Laura*

Julian: "Shh! We're hiding. Everyone be quiet. That includes me. Shh! Who's making that noise? Oh, it's me again."

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009