remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I don't have time to study Freudianism [Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005, 12:06 pm]

I have a problem with doing things. Short-term things are fun - I could do short-term projects all day, but when it comes to taking on something that's long and involved, I have trouble finishing. Something tells me I could be a good writer, as in, writer of books instead of just diary entries, but so far I haven't kept my focus on any one story long enough to get very far.

I keep having "better" ideas, "better" characters, and pretty soon I move on leaving everything else unfinished. Or else I'll just think that "someday" I'll get around to really pushing myself to do it. But if I really expect to accomplish anything, I need to learn to make that "someday" now.

Today in psychology we talked a bit about Sigmund Freud. I wouldn't recommend studying any of his teachings, since it's more cultish than scientific (as many other theories of science are). I mean, if you enjoy blatant sexism and ridiculous perverted ideas then go ahead. They even admit that he often dreamed up theories and made his patients accept them rather than formulating his theories strictly from what his patients told him.

But at one point my professor got away from that and was talking about perseverence. He's written over 200 books in his life, and he said people often tell him, "I'd love to write a book someday, but I don't have the time." In order to break it down, he said that if the average novel is about 300 pages long, and those who wanted to write put forth the effort required to write one page per day, you could (theoretically) finish a novel in less than a year. I'm sure it's not that simple, but I know I certainly can't use a lack of time as my excuse for not finishing what I start.

He made another good point that when it comes down to it, our real worst enemy is ourself. Of course, he doesn't call it "sin nature" like I would, but it's the same concept. We like to blame parents, and teachers, and "society," and politicians and lawyers for our problems, when we're usually the ones messing things up for ourselves.

I also find it almost comical at how far some scientists and psychologists will go just to try to explain why people do bad things. It's really much simpler than they'd like to think: Satan fell, Adam sinned. Overanalytical methods produce overcomplicated explanations, which only hurts our understanding.

Aren't you glad I'll never be a psychologist?

*Laura*

If I had been Groucho Marx I know exactly what line I would have used on Freud:

"Say, is this stuff on the level or are you just making it up as you go along?"

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009