remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

1998 [Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005, 6:57 pm]

As I was cleaning out my room yesterday, I came across one of my old "diaries". I don't think it truly counts as a diary, because it only gave me about 5 lines to write in each day, which is one of the reasons I started keeping my real diaries in blank notebooks so I could customize them.

Anyway, I just sat on the floor and started reading through this piece of my history, and soon lost all track of time. Not that my writing was anything special back then - it was from 1998, so I was only 11 when I started it. I doubt that other people would be able to make sense of all my cryptic references, but I actually found that I still understand my little 1998 self, and all it took was one written word to bring back memories to me that would mean nothing to anyone else.

That was quite a year, now that I think about it. Another little brother was added to my family (child #6). Maine was hit pretty hard with a storm of freezing rain (now affectionately referred to as the "Ice Storm of '98"), and we lost power for a whole week. I played in my first Little League softball season, and got to pitch a few games. We made it to the championship, but lost 20 to 6. The winter Olympics took place in Nagano Japan, and I, along with countless other girls, was completely enthralled by Tara Lipinski's gold medal-winning ice skating. I was first introduced to the Star Wars movies. I started following NFL football. I developed crushes on Drew Bledsoe, Tim Henman, Luke Skywalker, and countless others.

But on a personal level, things inside me were changing a little. I was starting to wonder about my place. Even though most of my mindless scrawl was dedicated to the events of the day, I remember reading probably the only question I asked in the entire diary: "Why am I so weird?" In other places, I briefly wondered why I felt like such a misfit.

There was humor too. In a fit of anger at having to do so much schoolwork, I declared, "I hate school! I'm never going to college!" Hehe.

Ah well. Nice memories. I'm sure they don't mean much to anyone else, but I think I discovered more about what I was like as an adolescent, and realized that perhaps I'm not quite as different now as I'd like to think.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009