remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

To enjoy, or not to enjoy [Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005, 4:12 pm]

I ran some errands this morning, to get out of the house. "Errands" for me usually include going to the bank, and then wasting time bargain-hunting for clothes that I don't exactly need. Okay, I've decided I won't spend another cent on non-essential items until classes start up again. So there. I also rented "the Village", so my dad and brother may watch it with me tonight.

And then this afternoon I drove my brother to his drum lessons, and had to write a $45 check for him to give to his instructor, since he forgot to bring the one my mom wrote. Nice. Nothing to complain about though, since I got paid back.

During the past few days I've been reading through the introductory business of Shakespeare's "Macbeth". Apparently we'll be studying that in English 102 this semester. I hate to admit it, but I've never read anything of Shakespeare's, despite the fact that I'm supposedly an English major.

I guess most of his poetic language has turned me off - too many wherefores, therefores, and alas foresooths for me. But I suppose I shouldn't enter this class with a pessimistic attitude. The best thing to do is just give it my best shot and try to understand him as best I can - and who knows? I may end up liking it.

When I think about it, most of the forms of entertainment/enlightenment that I love/follow were things I didn't think I'd like at first. I didn't think I'd like "The moustache", which was the first "I Love Lucy" episode that I watched, but guess what? I did.

I didn't think the Marx brothers would be all that interesting when I watched one of their movies for the first time, but they were much more than that.

I didn't think Anne Frank's diary would teach me anything, but I was definitely wrong there too.

So even if I don't end up falling in love with Shakespeare, I might as well at least try to understand him, and not allow a good piece of literature to be spoiled by my preconceived notions. There must be some reason why his works have endured for so long.

*Laura*

"To share, or not to share - that is the question. Whether 'tis nobler to share mine eggs, cooked light and fluffy, or to scarf down the whole thing myself! To share, or not to share..."

-the Veggietales version of Hamlet-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009