remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Maturity...and poetry [Monday, Jun. 05, 2006, 10:51 pm]

I suppose I have grown up a bit over the past 2 years. School has had a lot to do with it. My responsibilities seem to be coming slowly though. It seems to me that it will be nearly impossible for me to truly gain more maturity as an adult until I'm away from my family. Because I depend on them too much. And like it or not, I'm still a "child" here, to some extent.

I mean, it's great to have people to depend on, but I'm not going to be living with them for the rest of my life. I need to start blazing new trails and forming friendships of my own. I just haven't usually felt the need to do that while I've been living here. Why should I when it's already taken care of by them? I'm hoping that once I'm away from them on a daily basis, I'll begin to sense the need to forge more relationships - and maybe learn to do it better as well.

Summer has been kinda slow so far, but the rainyness probably has something to do with it. I'm working, but I've only read two books, so I need to get to the library soon. I've been writing poetry though, for some odd reason. I think it must be a phase, because I've probably written more poems in this year alone than in all my other years combined. I'm still somewhat self-conscious about what I've written, but that feeling is definitely waning. I know without a doubt that my poetry is getting better - not that that would take much, but some little improvement is better than not writing it at all. So here are two I wrote this month. I hope the second one makes sense - it does to me anyway.

You walked with me
When we were young
But now we walk alone

You sat with me
Beside the pond
Atop the weathered stone

And I still sit
And so do you
But we are far apart

Do you think of me
When all is still?
I've kept you in my heart

-------------------

A cryptic measure of my heart's intentions
On paper, can it be?
To understand this heart from words and phrases
Impossible to see

A journey of thoughts compressed to letters
Interpreted by the eye
I cannot make you feel quite like I do
Yet it's wonderful to try

-------------------

I just realized I used the word "heart" 3 times. I must still be too much of a sap...

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009