remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Temporary [Saturday, Jun. 14, 2008, 1:29 pm]

It's not always easy to have to go to Panera Bread every time I want to get online, but I suppose that's making me appreciate it more. I'm sure we'll get DSL at the flat eventually - the roomies will need it for homework. But for now I'm content to just check e-mail during my lunch break, and drive down here to chat every so often - and update my diaries, of course. Although this place blocks xanga, for whatever odd reason. I'd think myspace would be a more likely candidate.

I'm trying to stay active. Climbing 2 flights of stairs to go in and out has helped a little. Last week I walked 2 or 3 miles - there's a nice "loop" that goes down a long road by the airport where planes come in and take off, and then it goes back across the more populated area of the city, where there are some stores, but it's not all that busy. I enjoyed it.

I was thinking yesterday about how easy it can be to place security in the things that really aren't secure. I was thinking about how relieved I am that I can now afford certain things, and how nice it is to have a full-time job that I enjoy. The thing that came to my mind right after that, of course, is that, wait... my job is only temporary. And I've realized there are many other temps in the office - so I don't know what my chances are come September. I so want to have something permanent, that I can depend on without having to worry.

But then I realized - any job I ever have will be temporary. So what if I get hired and the stock market crashes? What if there are lay-offs, the economy goes under, positions get cut, I find out I have to move, I lose an arm?... etc. You get the point. No matter how "secure" any financial situation may look, there's always the chance of anything happening. And that's why I can't put my security in the idea of full-time employment. On that note, maybe it's a good thing that I'm a temp - so that I can't place my security in a job, because that's not where it's supposed to be...

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009