remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Ups and downs [Friday, Jul. 04, 2008, 5:04 pm]

Well, here I am again. Things go up and down, but somehow the vessel always stays upright, and for that I am thankful.

The little things I worry about aren't all that important in the grand scheme, but still, I want to... do well in life, ya know. So never mind the necessary limiting of a close friendship that I had to make myself do, or the (unrelated) fact that one of my roommates just moved out.

But each of these things could potentially lead to new friendships, attitudes, and new ways for me to grow, so - I'm going to hope for the best.

...And focus on the positives instead. I got my official piece of paper in the mail, that says I have a degree! Woot. Summa cum laude, baby. So yeah, now I have a piece of paper that says I have an English degree. I mean, it's not that I was too worried about no one believing me otherwise... it's just.. nice to have the documentation.

In an e-mail from my grandma, she was surprised I was working at a mortgage company, and said something about how she thought I might be waiting on tables. Yeah... thanks for believing in me. I mean, I guess it's not a surprise - I often don't believe in my own abilities, so I shouldn't expect other people to do more than that, but yeah, I'm glad I have a good job.

I've been able to get some baking done lately. First I made biscuits, which turned out okay, but didn't all get eaten. Then I made my favorite mocha-chip cookies, which were yummy. After that I tried some banana bread - I used a muffin recipe and just baked it a lot longer. That was also good - so I made some more cookies for a cook-out, and I think next I'll be trying my hand at pizza. Once I have the equipment, I'll be doing cheesecake too :-D Oddly enough, I've lost 3 pounds in the past month. Maybe things are different when you're the one paying for the food you eat...

On a completely unrelated note, I think it might be safe to call Steve Carrell the American Mr. Bean - It might be the nose, but they strike me as having a bunch of other similarities as well.

Until next time... I am me.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009