remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Between 4 and 14 [Wednesday, Dec. 21, 2005, 12:58 pm]

Thanks for the feedback about my previous entry - obviously I'll have to think and pray about it, but if the Europe trip does end up working out, I'll be sure to post it.

Well, the semester is over! I actually finished on Monday, but I'm back at school today to use their computers, and develop one last roll of film before the photo lab closes. The weekend was spent trying to fit 5+ pages of notes onto one side of a sheet of notebook paper, for the little "cheat sheet" we were allowed to bring to the chemistry final. It wasn't that hard, because I can write pretty small if I have to. I don't know how I did yet, but at the moment I'm content to just sit back and wait for the grades to come in. No point in stressing.

I've also been working and baking Christmas cookies at home - something I haven't done in quite a while. I've made 3 batches so far, about half of them for co-workers, since I realize I didn't get them anything last year.

Another thing I haven't done in quite a while is clean my room. During the semester I usually don't have the time or energy to, and so I end up with random piles of stuff all over the place. And I have a pretty small room, so when my walking space starts to shrink (all 10 square feet of it), I know it's time to dedicate a day to cleaning and organizing.

On a completely different tangent, I was thinking about why I felt the 1930's atmosphere presented in "King Kong" wasn't exactly believable. One thing that seemed very modern-day to me was the reference to women's sizes. Carl says he's looking for a girl who can wear a size 4 costume. Even nowadays that would be considered pretty small, but considering women's sizes were numbered higher back then - well, I wonder if Peter Jackson forgot to take that into account.

For example, in the I Love Lucy episode "the diet," Lucy is starving herself in order to fit into a size 12 costume. But looking at her, I'd think she would be more of a size 8 - 10 at the most. Even Marilyn Monroe was a size 14. And no, I'm not just basing this on the sizes they "look" - I've read in several places that women's clothing sizes have changed over the years - they've been numbered smaller. So if Marilyn Monroe was a size 14 (some say 16) in the 1950's, and that was considered beautiful, I'd have a hard time believing that only 20 years previous, a size 4 was the beauty standard for actresses.

I probably didn't explain that very well, but hearing it said in the movie - I just didn't buy it, since I've never heard of sizes that small before modern times - as if the filmmakers were trying to make it appear 1930's without doing their homework.

Oh well. It's just my guess.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009