remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Chance of a lifetime? [Monday, Dec. 19, 2005, 10:55 am]

I've got a real dilemma on my hands. I've been offered (by one of my co-workers) the chance to go on a trip to Europe this summer with a group of other folks, which would include visiting Italy, Greece, and Turkey. Let's just say this is the portion of Europe my family never got to visit 10 years ago, I've wanted to visit Italy and Greece for ages, and I've known about this trip for over a year, I just couldn't go because it was going to be in March. Now it's been pushed back to June/July, so I can conceivably go.

It's $2,500, which is a lot of money, but not a bad deal considering it covers round-trip airfare, over 18 days of lodging and food (except for lunches), and a Mediterranean cruise at the end!

Coincidentally, I have about that much money in my savings account right now, which I've been saving for pretty much my whole life, although most of it has come in the past few years. The bad part is, I was planning on using it for school next year, and so if I don't, I'll have to take out a much larger loan for my Junior year than I had planned on.

But - who knows if I'll get an opportunity like this again? I can't imagine how many rolls of film I'd go through, how many amazing sites I'd get to see. It would be blast. But then there's the money thing. Plus there's the 3 weeks of income I won't get since I won't be working.

So I don't know. Everyone I've talked to so far seems to think I should just go and worry about money later.

What do you think?

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009