remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

A nostalgic ramble [March 14, 2004, 3:52 p.m.]

Today was my little sister's 10th birthday party. We went bowling. I got a measley 59. It's kinda sad to get the lowest score when you're bowling with a bunch of young kids. Oh well, I've always enjoyed bowling, even though I've never been good at it.

Today is special in another way too - it marks 8 years since we moved back to the USA. Which is pretty cool. I can still remember that day. My sister had just turned 2, and we had a little party for her the night before we left. We didn't have a whole lot in our house, cuz it had all been shipped out. Mainly just some chairs borrowed from people, and some air mattresses to sleep on. The next day we got up wicked early, and took an hour-long van ride to Aberdeen, Scotland, where we took the train to Glasgow. From there, we took a two-hour flight to London.

I remember our flight had been delayed, so we were afraid we might miss the one going out of London. When we got to the airport we saw a guy holding a sign up with our names on it, and I think the names of some other family too. When we told him who we were, he whisked us through all the gates (my mom had a hard time keeping up cuz she was 6 months pregnant at the time) and we were able to board the plane in only a few minutes, right before takeoff. That was pretty cool. Even now I don't really understand who he was, and how he knew to expect us.

Well, that seven-hour flight took us to Boston. I remember we got these really cool TV's on the armrests of our seats. I watched power rangers, hansel and gretle, and some computer-animated show called reboot. From Boston, we took a half-hour flight on this little tiny airplane which took us to Portland. It was pretty dark outside when we got there. Our grandparents and some of my dad's old friends came to pick us up. For me, it was a pretty weird feeling being in a different country, but I was excited at the same time.

I had had a lot of friends in Scotland though. When we moved back here, I made one or too, but I didn't get to see them very often, and one of them moved away soon after. Kinda sad. When we first got here, we lived with my grandparents for about a month while my parents searched for a good house to rent. When our stuff finally got here, we moved into it. It was a really nice house in a good neighborhood, which was a lot of fun. After about 8 months, our parents bought my great-grandmother's old house, and we moved into that. It was out in the country, so we didn't have any friends to go out & play with, or any sidewalks to ride our bikes on. And the house was a lot older too, and a bit smaller. But it was nice anyway. We had 70 acres of woods to play on, including a large field to go sledding on in the winter. Until two more kids came along. As my grandmother told me later "I think your parents were looking through rose-colored glasses when they thought they could ever live in that house". So after we'd been there for a while, my parents decided to build a new house on the property out back. The whole process took about 3 years, and my dad did most of the building. But it was finally done in November of 2002, and we moved in just in time for Thanksgiving. It was soo nice to have a house with a shower! And more than one bathroom! One bathroom for 9 people at the old house just didn't work out too well. We eventually sold our old house, but kept most of the property (including all the woods, and the big field).

We still had fun at that old house though. We had a playhouse and some nice trees on the front lawn, a garden, and a chicken coop. We raised two batches of about 100 chickens which we slaughtered for meat. After that, we had egg-laying chickens for a while.

But yeah, this long moment of nostalgia has been brought to you by...

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009