remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Finally registered [Wednesday, Jul. 19, 2006, 1:03 pm]

I am now registered for classes at USM :-) Oh, and get this. I call myself an English major, and yet when I went to the registration tables, I went to the wrong letter category. Yeah, I guess "F" doesn't fall between "H-L," does it? My excuse is that my brain doesn't really start functioning until around 8 a.m., and it was 7:30. To be honest, the "EFGHI" part of the alphabet has always given me trouble. Even more than "LMNOP." I actually have to sing the song in my head to remember the order (and yet I enjoy alphabetizing things). So there's my other excuse.

This is going to be the first semester since fall 2004 that I haven't taken a 300-level course. I feel like a beginner again! But this school has different "core" curriculum requirements, so I think it's best to get that all out of the way first, so I can focus on better things. They even require a philosophy class, which I think is dumb. I already know what my philosophy is. But the one I'm taking is called "Human Alienation," which sounds interesting.

And yes, there's the math class. I think it's level 105, but it's 4 credit hours. I think I can get through it. It sounds like it's more basic than algebra, so who knows.

And then I'm taking two 200-level English classes that are prerequesites for most of the 300-level ones. One of them is creative writing, so after this I can take more detailed creative writing classes, such as poetry, fiction writing, etc. Funness.

And USM has minors! I'm trying to decide whether I should minor in creative writing, but with a major in English, that might be a little redundant. I might decide to go for something else I like, such as history. Oddly enough, this school has an even smaller photo class selection than UMA, even though it's like 3 times as big. We'll see. This will also be the first semester that I haven't taken a photo class. Saves me another $300 right there...

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009