remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Pools and schools (WOW, I made a rhyme!) [Friday, Jun. 18, 2004, 7:22 pm]

It's been rather muggy these past few days. The diner where I work can get pretty hot too. I only ended up working 2.5 hours today though. As I was walking home, in the heat, I happened to pass a house that had a nice pool out in back of it. Gah! I wanted to just run over and jump in it. All we have is an old sprinkler. But then, if my parents got a pool now, they'd probably use up all of my college money in the process, so I suppose I can survive summers in Maine without a pool. After all, pools up here only get about 3 months of use per year, at the most.

Speaking of college, tomorrow I have orientation. I'm going to get a tour of the campus, and also (very importantly), I'm going to register for Fall classes. I really hope the photography one is still open. I'm registering kinda late, so I might end up with some that aren't very fun, but it's better than nothing. 5 courses per semester. I hope I survive. Actually, I know I can survive, but I guess in my selfishness I just don't want to have to give up anything else in the process.

But I should be very thankful. I mean, looking at the history of the world, what percentage of all people who have lived will have the opportunity to do what I'm doing now? Out of billions and billions of people, very few are/were able to have access to the kinds of things I can have. I may be a little upset that I have to attend a 'cheapo' school this year, but I should be thankful that I get to go anywhere at all! And that I won't have to go into debt to do it.

Perspective helps a lot, doesn't it?

*Laura*

"I believe in Christianity as I believe the sun has risen. Not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else."

-CS Lewis

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009