Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Life after a wedding... [Sunday, Nov. 13, 2011, 3:16 pm]

Well, hello again, diary. I'm coming to you from a different desk, a different house, a different town, and a different county than I have before.

Today is our 3-month anniversary! It's hard to believe it's been 3 months... it actually feels a lot longer than that. We've spent some time decompressing from the wedding craziness. In one sense I'm very glad that it's over, but at the same time, the day itself went very well. There were no huge mishaps, and that made us feel as though all the planning was worth it.

I'm so very glad for the ways we were able to personalize the wedding day... the music choices, the ceremony, the "centerpiece game" quiz. It was just really fun to do, and we found neat ways to blend our personalities. It may seem weird to say, but I think I would have had a much more boring day if I'd gotten married at a younger age. I would have been so nervous and wanting to get it over with that I would have allowed things to be way too generic without fully appreciating the day and the things we could do.

For some reason, when I started walking down the aisle, I wasn't nervous. That was definitely a gift... I had to struggle to get ahold of myself right before walking, because I wanted to just start crying with the emotion of the music and the day, but I didn't.

I'm so grateful for Doug's involvement. Apparently there's this stereotype that men don't help out much when it comes to weddings. Well, he was the exact opposite - he may have even done more work than me. It helped that he has more days off than me... but overall, I'm glad with how it went, but VERY glad to be done with all the planning and return to normal life!

Life is busy right now - we're involved in our local church, and I'm still unpacking and getting things settled here - we're going to be landowners pretty soon, once my father-in-law deeds us the lot that this house is on. :-)

I'm commuting an hour to work and back every day, which makes the evenings a lot shorter than I'd like. Fortunately, we're both still finding time to cook real food almost every night, which is really important... but I do hope to find something up here soon - we shall see. It's just hard to look when my time up here is taken up with seemingly more important things.

Other than the busyness, things are going quite well. I couldn't have asked for a better guy than Doug, and although this was certainly not a match I would have foreseen, I'm so glad that God brought us together in spite of that fact. ;-)

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Sometimes I forget - Sunday, Jul. 05, 2015
Navigating the sea of parenting advice... - Monday, Feb. 25, 2013
Life after a wedding... - Sunday, Nov. 13, 2011
An unlikely turn of events... - Tuesday, Mar. 22, 2011
I'm okay - Saturday, Jan. 23, 2010