remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Blowing out the candles [Monday, Mar. 23, 2009, 9:00 pm]

I suppose I haven't posted any 'regular' news for a while. I can only imagine how much you've all missed my nostalgic whining. Not ;-)

Speaking of which, I missed my 6-year diaryland anniversary, because it happened last month. Hard to believe I've been on here that long. I was 16 when I started writing entries on here. I'm now 22. 16 seems like a somewhat unclear, foggy time for me, looking back - perhaps because it was. Funnier still, I remember thinking then that I'd be completely mature and developed by the time I reached this age. HAHAHAHA! Like, *poof*, it would just happen. Maybe on my birthday when I blew out the candles? I don't even really use candles anymore. At least, not that I recall. I mostly just remember the cake and forget the candles.

I'm sailing on a tangent, quite clearly, but I'll keep going as long as the winds are in my favor. That reminds me of some funny birthday cake stories. There was this one time when my sister was turning 2, and my parents were trying to get her to blow out the candle(s). Of course, at that age she didn't quite have all her teeth or something, so... let's just say that a little more than air came out every time she attempted to blow the thing out. For some reason we all chose pieces from the other side of the cake.

Then there are those crazy demon-possessed candles that just don't go out no matter how much carbon monoxide you inflict on them. Seriously, why? Those things were cool when CGI didn't exist, and there were such things as dolls without computer chips implanted all over them. I don't think kids are quite as impressed with magic candles anymore. I don't think we really ever were. And if such a trick is played on an adult, forget it. It's like trying to kill a cockroach, only it's more annoying because you can't use your shoes or a hammer, or everyone will get mad at you.

Okay, different direction. I'd have to say my favorite birthday ever was one that did indeed involve cake, but I only know that because we have pictures. The part that was great about it was that it also involved my first ever trip to a zoo that I remember, and not only that but it was the Edinburgh zoo in Scotland. We'd just moved there, and that was one of the first "field trips" I remember going on (out of many to come). It was my 5th birthday. Man, those were the days.

And.... it isn't even close to being my birthday so I don't know how I got onto that. Something to do with candles...anniversaries...aging... nostalgia. Yeah. Some things never change.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009