remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Coffee [Monday, Jan. 12, 2009, 6:36 pm]

Sometimes it feels more bothersome to write a full-fledged entry after becoming so accustomed to communicating one's status intermittently through the medium of facebook. Perhaps all those small updates can add up to one big one, and it will all be balanced and okay?
And that would be kinda sad, because that would be like saying a pamphlet is better than a novel. Or not quite, but it's the same idea.

It's been cold and snowy lately, and I've been alone with my cat for a month (roomies will be back from break in a few days). Well, not ALL alone, but you know what I mean. In the interim, I have discovered an affinity for sitting in coffee shops and reading books while sipping on various concoctions of coffee, ice, whipped cream, and flavored syrups, with probably a lot more sugar thrown in there than I really need. Hence, I've tried to limit such outings to once a week. Or twice. Ish.

'What?' you ask. 'Icy drinks in the middle of winter?'
'Why yes,' says I! Okay okay, I'll explain - I know that look. See, here's the thing. I'm apparently a high-maintenance coffee drinker. No, wait. My drinking of hot coffee is a high-maintenance affair. That sounds better. Very hot drinks and I haven't always been the best of friends. It's one thing if I'm, say, sitting at home with a cup of tea. But when I'm out somewhere, I tend to favor the cold.

It goes like this. When I get a hot coffee or something like that, it's always scalding hot at first, so I'm faced with the choice of either setting it down for half an hour until it becomes drinkable, or stirring and blowing into it for several minutes before I finally decide to venture a taste and usually end up burning myself. I'll agree, once it does eventually reach that wonderful state between boiling and lukewarm, it can be quite enjoyable - going down warm and staying that way for a while. So for a few minutes, it's fine. And then I get all into my book (because I've been neglecting it while fussing over this high-maintenance drink), and reach over to take another sip, and what do you know? It's lukewarm! By the time I get down to the bottom it's pretty much cold anyway, so why not just order it with ice in the first place?

See, I like simplicity. Constance. As long as there is ice in the beverage, it will all remain the same temperature until the last little piece has melted. I'm pretty sure that's a scientific fact. No burning myself, no obsessive stirring - AND I can drink it through a straw, which thus minimizes the chances of spillage onto books (and jackets). The downside is that those whizzed ice beverages usually cost around twice as much as hot ones. But I think it's worth it. And I must make the disclaimer that my reactions to certain temperatures may be a little more sensitive than those of most people. But I've never been normal. And you all knew that already :-D

Thus ends my treatise on hot vs. cold coffee-related beverages. I'm going to go do something productive now...

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009