remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Dog days of November [Saturday, Nov. 29, 2008, 10:52 am]

Happy Thanksgiving to all. I hope your weekends have been filled with family and fun and a million and one ways to use leftover turkey.

I've enjoyed being a kid again for a weekend. We actually had less than 20 people here for Thanksgiving, which was unusual, but it was still fun.

I got the chance to go for a walk in the woods with some siblings and cousins, and it was a great day for it. We walked along the water's edge and found a bunch of small trees that had been gnawed by beavers - some of them recently. We also saw something that I found humorous and wish I'd brought my camera for. There was this tree with a roll of toilet paper hung on a short stubby branch, and a bucket right next to it. I guess it was a hunter's port-a-potty?

Anyway. I have 1,000 words left to write for NaNo. It won't take that long to do, but I'm honestly not that inspired for an ending right now. I mean, I know what the last hundred or so words will be, but I might have to go back later and edit the build-up to it. Either way, I'll be glad to be finished. It'll be nice to be able to do things in the evening other than... sitting at my computer and typing.

One thing my family has been doing this weekend is finally looking for a dog. I guess my mom's a little apprehensive about it, because she's been coming up with all these reasons to stall. I know, it's a big decision, but it shouldn't take two years! About half of us actually went to the shelter yesterday, and saw a few. There was one gorgeous shepherd/lab mix that was already spoken for, and another that looked nice but would probably be a chicken-chaser. My vote will probably go to a whippet/husky mix that we saw. He looks a little like a dingo, but he was friendly, and even came over and laid in my lap and licked my face.

Of course, a golden retriever would probably be one of the better choices for our family, but we kinda have to go with what's available - I'm sure that once the dog is accepted into our family, no one will care about the breed.

I think I'm becoming more of an animal person than I was before. We never really had pets growing up, partly because my early childhood was spent in rental houses, but also because, with 7 kids, my mom really didn't want to add more chaos to the mix. But we got a cat a few years ago, and I have gradually come to realize that I do like cats, now that I have a better idea of how to deal with them.

A lot of my early interactions with dogs were based on fear. I think I was bitten by a dog when I was really young, and then I have vivid memories of this dog at my grandparents' campground that would run at me, and I would run off crying. He was just being friendly, but I wasn't very tall and when you're a little kid and you see this big creature with teeth and claws barreling toward you - it can be kinda traumatizing. But I got over it. I actually prefer "big dogs" now, and I would totally own one if I lived in a place that allowed dogs.

For now, I'll settle for having a cat.
Sometimes I wish I could just adopt a whole bunch - a shelter is definitely not the ideal environment for any pet. Actually, I've always wanted to adopt kids, but since I don't have anywhere near the finances for that right now, I'll just have to stick with pets.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009