remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Work [Thursday, Oct. 16, 2008, 8:16 pm]

I like my job. Basically I'm a "file clerk," but since the company just moved to a larger office, they put me in the new, larger, file room. By myself. It's almost like having my own office. So basically I organize files and add things to them, create new ones on my computer, and invite people to partake of the Hershey's kisses on my desk. It would be lonely, but another of my duties is to distribute faxes as they come in, so I get to walk around every so often, and I know where everyone sits, etc. So it's much less isolating than it seems, and there's always something to do.

Yeah, I love it. Organizing things comes naturally to me for some reason. I may not do it the way everyone else would, but I can definitely keep my own system under control.

The thing is, I have a feeling they'll move me up to something less cool in not too long. I guess being a file clerk is mainly an "intro" position. I'll enjoy it while I can.

Which I sort of understand, but at the same time, I seem to have a different view of work than some people. I don't always like this "American dream" idea that the whole point is to get ahead, and that if you're good at the "intro" position, then you must move up to a totally different position that often has little to do with what you did before. I see it more as a body all working together - if you're good at something, you should keep doing it and get better. If I can fill a particular role and do it well, and develop a certain level of memory and experience with it (yes, even in "menial" things), why leave and try to become a different body part? Most jobs only get repetitive and tiring if you let them. Oh well, what do I know?

Perhaps that's a thinly veiled excuse for why I don't always welcome change, but whatever.

I just... want to do as well as possible where I am. If I can't do that, then what's the point of getting ahead?

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009