remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Gold medals [Saturday, Aug. 16, 2008, 12:43 pm]

Hopefully we will have internet in the apartment soon, so I won't have to go so long without updates, or spend hours trying to navigate the in-and-out internet connection at Panera Bread.

The good news is, it looks like we've found a 3rd roommate, and she's someone I know - so it will be nice, even if it will mean giving up my single room.

I think I'm going to make pizza today. Last time I tried, it was with this hard-core whole wheat flour, and the dough just wasn't malleable at all. I had to use 2 pizza's worth of dough for one - and so it was kinda thick and not very pizza-like. So I'm going to try it again with the dumbed-down wheat flour - I guess that stuff's good for some things. It'll be tomato & feta cheese. Mmmmmm....

I've been watching a lot of Olympics lately, and trying not to turn into too much of a bum in the process. I have very much enjoyed gymnastics, especially seeing Nastia win gold and the Americans go 1-2 like that. And Michael Phelps - well, what is there to say? That relay where the Americans just edged out the French - well, it was around midnight, but that definitely woke me up in a hurry. Best race ever.

It's funny sometimes, looking back at all the great sports moments in history, and wondering what it must have been like to watch those things as they happened - to experience history being made. But I'm doing the same thing now. I'll be able to say that I was around when Phelps won more golds than anyone else - that I watched the most amazing freestyle relay ever.

I used to think the same thing about movies. About how lucky my dad was to have seen the original Star Wars movies in theaters. But really, I've experienced just as much cinema history in my own time. Once you realize you're living history (especially in the more important things than just entertainment), well... it just helps to put things into perspective.

Well, I'm tired of this internet cutting in & out. I'm going to tab some youtube videos and head out. Tata, til next time.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009