remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Wheels [Sunday, Apr. 20, 2008, 6:37 pm]

I have wheels! It makes me very relieved, and I'm so thankful that God gave me what I needed at the right time! This car isn't without some issues, but it's cute, and it works, and that's about 15 different kinds of awesome right there.

The plan was for my dad to trade cars with me yesterday, but when he was filling the radiator of my old one, it took about three gallons before he realized the leak into the engine had worsened. Usually I'd just put in one gallon and call it good, but he was planning on taking it all the way home so it would need more.


Long story short, it shot water out the tail pipe after he attempted to start it, so we went to plan B, which was junking it. I must admit, I'm sad to see Rusty go. He wasn't a bad guy, and I guess my extremely minor bump on a curb a few years ago was what may have initially started the radiator problems.


Here's basically what the new one looks like - although mine is several years older than the one pictured here:

It's not "new," obviously, but I love it so much. I figured it would take a bit longer before I'd be able to drive anything made in this century. I can't tell you how nice it is to drive a car that actually has heat (just in time for spring), and a dashboard that actually lights up so I can see how fast I'm going even at night, and an engine that doesn't overheat every time I take it down the road.


I've decided that this car is a female, so I need to come up with an appropriate name. I was thinking something like Arwen or Galadriel at first, but I realized something less extravagant would be better. Right now I'm leaning towards Charlotte (as in Charlotte Bronte, Charlotte's Web, and that delicious dessert), but I'm certainly welcome to suggestions.


It looks like we'll have an apartment in early May too :-). Now I just need to get a decent job!!

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009