remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I fought the homework and the homework won [Saturday, Sept. 29, 2007, 6:53 pm]


Actually, I haven't really fought it much this weekend.

Friday I worked 8 to 4, and then drove home, first time in a month. It was nice to see the family, raid the fridge, and do laundry for free. I showed some Homestar runner cartoons to my brothers - which is okay for me because I won't be here to hear them repeat them over and over again, but my mom will, teeheehee.

I think I missed my youngest brother the most... There's this part in "The Wizard of Oz" towards the end when Dorothy is saying goodbye, and when she gets to the Scarecrow she says something like "I think I'll miss you the most." And that's how I feel about Andrew. It's not that I like him any more than I like the rest of my family, but somehow there's a different connection with the youngest kid - I miss him the most. I mean, I was 14 when he was born. At a time when most girls were developing their designer wardrobes and chasing the boys, I was changing his diapers, and doing live-in-babysitter duty.

I remember right after my mom had him, she had to take baths every morning (we didn't have a shower in that house) and so she would always call me in to take care of him every single time. So I'd have to watch him on the bed until he started crying (inevitably), and then I'd carry him around and around the room until she got back. So I basically had a hand in raising him, which is why it's harder to be away from the youngest kid. When I got back he took me to see his "rock collection" (a huge bag of rocks), and then "read" to me from his 50's-style Superman book. So cute...

Oh well. I have to go back tonight. Still a little troubled about the financial side of things. My dad says he can give me some, so I hope it will be enough when added to my 12 hours of salary per week. I wish I had more breaks from school so I could work more at the mail room, but this is the wrong semester for that.

I've been busy lately... otherwise I'd talk more about the academic side of things. I have been learning much of interest, but I guess it will have to wait.

On the fictional side of things, I have a story due next week-ish, and I'm trying to decide what kind it's going to be. As in, whether I should try something serious, internal and brooding which seems to be natural for me, or something historical/fantastical and descriptive. Or just comedic and light-hearted, because I do need work on that. I'll keep thinking...

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009