remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Back to school [Tuesday, Sept. 04, 2007, 4:43 pm]

So I'm here. I'm all unpacked and moved in. I will say that I definitely like this dorm more than my last one. I'm living in Robie hall this year, which is the "artsy" dorm of the bunch. A lot of theater and music students live here, as well as a bunch of artistic types, which is just my kind of thing. Not that I'm a huge artist, but they have a coffee house once a month with an open mic - I'm wondering if maybe I'd have the courage to read a few poems or something. I'll try to convince my English major friend across the hall to do it with me.

The dorm was actually first built back in 1897, so it's a huge brick building and some of the old wooden stairways and banisters are still intact. Our room has hardwood flooring too, so it definitely has a historical feel to it. There's even a haunting legend as well. Apparently many decades ago, a pregnant student hung herself in the attic, and now there's supposedly a ghost that lives up there. I don't really believe in ghosts in that sense, but it's still an interesting myth. I'm thinking that at some point I'm going to have to shoot a roll or two of film here, just on the architecture. If I have time.

My roommate seems really nice. We're both very considerate, and we seem to agree on a lot of roommate-ish type issues, so hopefully things will go fine.

I've only had two classes so far. Tennis looks fun. Even though I have five English classes, I think they're different enough to not be too overwhelming. Two are creative writing, two are specific literary genre/time periods, and one is more of a history/linguistics class. So hopefully it will work out. Still no word on a second job at the library. I'm wondering if I should apply elsewhere in the meantime. But I realized I have at least four more hours I could spend at the mail room (that I thought was already scheduled), so I could probably up it to 16 hours per week instead of 12. Maybe I'll do that and then look for just one night per week somewhere. I dunno.

Anyway, it's been nice to meet up with friends & such. It's so weird - I feel like a sophomore in terms of the social scene, but academically I'm a senior. Which is hard to believe. I'm really hoping this will be the best year yet. I think it can be....

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009