remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Transitions [Thursday, Jun. 28, 2007, 11:44 pm]

So the layout is something of a running experiment - I think I'm going to stay with the same basic set-up, but I still felt the need to tweak it a little. I don't know how long I'll stick with this one. Part of me likes it, part of me thinks it's a little too - me. I don't know. I guess this blog is kind of about me, but still... after spending so much "work" on it, I like to at least give it some wear before I discard it.

Anyway.

I don't know why I'm up so late. No, it's not an identity crisis.

I was just listening to the Pancreas song by Weird Al - it's really quite clever. I now know that the pancreas secretes hormones and enzymes, and has something to do with the flowing of insulin and glucagon. I probably learned that at some point way back in high school, but it's a lot easier to remember when it's sung to a Beach-Boys-esque tune.

Speaking of good old Al, I don't think I'll be making it to his August concert after all, what with the moolah being kinda tight lately, and me not really having anyone to go with. I'll be fortunate enough if I can get to Soulfest without camping with a bunch of strangers and subsisting on bread and water the whole time.

Oh well. Maybe once I'm done paying tuition, I'll be able to afford to travel the world and all that good stuff. And that's another reason why I don't know if I want to get a Master's or not. I mean, I'm sure it would be helpful, but as long as I'm paying tuition, it will keep delaying my transition to financial independence, which I'm kinda hoping will be finished by this time next year. I feel like I need to get settled on my own before I worry about taking up school again - I mean, as much as I love learning, this will be my 16th year of it, coming right up. I don't think that taking a year off at this point would be such a bad thing.

Ah, finances. Right now my parents are going through this thing called "Financial Peace University" - it was written by Dave Ramsay, and whoever he is, he's definitely convinced them to cut down on spending and stick to a budget, which I guess is a good thing in the long run. I wonder if I can take it up with him after I get scurvy due to a shortage of fresh veggies in the house. Right when I wanted a veggie omelet too. No, I guess I'll live.

I need to keep up my reading this summer. I'm still not finished "Villette." It's pretty long - something like 600 pages, although that's counting the really long introduction. But I know that when I finish that I want to read some things by George Orwell, like Animal Farm and 1984 - I just realized we own those two.

Okay. I should get to bed. Thanks for listening to reading my semi-coherent, midnight, 95% organic ramblings.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009