remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Yeah, I'm a wuss [Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007, 6:10 pm]

Today I was reminded again of that theory I share with Marilyn Monroe, that women should get a few days off from work during their periods. Although this was technically my 4th day so I would have thought I'd be okay.

But anyway, this is what happened. I worked for 2 hours in the store, and I made a few mistakes but it was okay for the most part, and I was switching over to the diner for a few hours, so I started feeling mildly crampy and I took 2 pain-relief pills and drank some water, and then started making hamburger patties. Eventually though, I started feeling really bad. So, my first instinct in that case is to go to the bathroom and see if things improve, so I tried but someone was in it, so on the way back my whole vision started getting bright, like an overexposed photo.

So I went right out and sat down at one of the tables, and I figured I'd just wait until Kathy stepped out again so I could tell her I wasn't feeling well. So I remember sitting there thinking about that, and I think I turned slightly toward the counter too.

The next thing I remember, I felt like I was waking up from a dream, and I almost thought I was in my own bed - it seriously felt like waking up after several hours of sleep. Then I saw someone bending over me, and I wondered what she was doing in my room. And then everything just gradually started streaming back into my consciousness, and eventually it finally hit me that I'd just passed out. But even as I got up, it took me a few minutes to realize exactly what happened. And then I saw people looking at me and started feeling really embarrassed, as I always do when that happens.

So I got up and said I was okay, and even said I was sorry for causing commotion - maybe that sounds weird, but I really felt bad because I thought I should know myself well enough to do something else if I was feeling really bad, and I hadn't really had the chance to tell anyone, so that was my fault. But anyway, Kathy gave me some orange juice, and my boss came over and sat with me for a bit, and I told him that it had happened before, and I didn't need to go to the hospital or anything. People asked me if I had eaten enough, and I definitely had because I'd had breakfast and I just drank water a few minutes before, so I know it was entirely period-related.

I wonder if there's such a thing as temporary anemia. Or maybe it's just the blood loss catching up, because people pass out from having blood drawn too, and I think it's kinda the same thing. But it's been a good 3 years since I last passed out, so I guess I wasn't paying enough attention to the signs or something. I guess it's time to start bringing gatorade to work more often - not that I don't get enough sugar from other areas of my diet, but I guess that doesn't matter sometimes. It's funny, because I apparently did hit my head on the floor, but fortunately I put my hair up today, with one of those big bushy scrunchies, so I think that's why my head isn't sore now, haha.

Anyway, they let me rest for a while, and I thought I'd feel better, but I didn't, so my mom came to get me, and fortunately my sister was able to fill in for the rest of my hours, so they weren't short-handed - I would have felt pretty bad otherwise. But yeah, I felt better after laying on my bed for an hour or two, and having lunch. I know I'm fine now. It was just bad timing I guess, plus it's harder when I have a job that requires me to be on my feet all the time. I guess my only resort is to combat the curse by taking Pamprin every month or something, even though I hate the thought, because medication is so unnatural. I mean, medicine is important, but I don't think it's wise to be dependent on taking something all the time. Oh well... I have at least a month before I'll need to worry about it again, and that probably wouldn't have helped me anyway, since the other pain relief didn't do anything until after I passed out.

So there's my little adventure of the day. I'm fine. I'm just glad no one called me an ambulance this time.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009