remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Can't see the trees for the forest [Wednesday, May. 23, 2007, 7:58 pm]

Well the Megabucks machine still hates me, but I've done pretty well with most of the normal transactions, and I don't think I've made any huge mistakes in counting out cash or anything like that. So it's been pretty good - very hectic today though, and I'm afraid it will only get worse after Memorial Day. As long as I get full-time though, I should be glad.

I hate feeling like I did my best, and yet still got a less-than-my-usual-standard grade in a class. In two classes this semester, actually. Yeah, I still have a narrow range of acceptance in terms of the GPA - and I know, it's stupid to worry. All that really matters in real life is who you know and how hard you work. I guess sometimes I just think that my brain is the major thing that I have going for me, so I should try to do as well as possible in that area.

Oh well. It's not my fault that Poetry was taught by someone who'd only ever taught graduate students before, and seemed to think that we were too...

I think I've been doing better on things lately now that I've started trying more consciously to focus on one thing at a time. A lot of the time I just look at the big picture and freak out, but when I ignore that, there's less stress involved, and I can give each step its due instead of trying to swallow so much at once.

Not that it's bad to be able to look at the big picture too - I think it's very important to be mindful of the future, and how current decisions will affect it - but there has to be a balance between that, and living right now - otherwise it's easy to lose the "now."

And "now" I'm tired. So I'll look at the big picture as well as the present feeling - and get to bed.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009