remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

15th grade is over [Saturday, May. 12, 2007, 3:49 pm]

It's been nice to be able to have two or three days off from everything. I've spent a lot of the time just sorting through my junk, figuring out what to get rid of, and cleaning the things I've decided to keep.

If anything, dorm life has helped to show me how little I can live on if necessary, how little I actually used some of the things I packed, and how little I missed a lot of the things that I really wanted to bring but didn't.

Today I finally got rid of all the papers and other material I'd kept from back when I applied to all those other private schools I wanted to go to. I don't know why I hung onto it this long - I guess it was partly because I'd forgotten it was there, but also because I had the idea that I just might need to use it again someday. But I won't. And sometimes I do wonder what would have happened if I'd gone to an expensive, private school. If I'd had money, and had been less wary of debt, and maybe more motivated with a specific goal in mind. But I believe I'm where I am for a reason, so it's okay to throw away all that stuff now. And when I say "throw away" in reference to paper products, I really mean recycle.

So I still have stuff to go sort out, but at least my room doesn't look like a tornado went through it anymore.

I'm starting up work next week, at the same little store I've worked at for the past three summers. I had been kinda looking for something else, but once again I ended up here, and so I guess this is where I'm supposed to be. And somehow the owner was able to talk me into helping out as a cashier as well, this time. I really don't know how he managed that - maybe it was just my strong need for full-time employment that I wouldn't really get by only working in the diner.

I know cashiering probably wouldn't be too hard to get the hang of if this was some generic chain store like Hannaford or Walmart, but it's just a local gas station and very little is standardized or computerized - so cashiers have to be responsible for a LOT, and I'm sure it will take me a long time before I even begin to feel comfortable with it.

I shouldn't be nervous, but I always am with this type of thing. I guess I'm just afraid of making mistakes, even though that's kinda vital to learning anything. And goodness knows I've made enough mistakes in my three-ish years in the diner, and somehow the owner still seems happy to have me working there again, so I guess I'll survive. I think I tend to look too much at the worst-case-scenario side of things, like gas drive-offs, bad checks, and yeah, having to work with customers a lot. For whatever reason, I'm just better with co-workers and inanimate objects, like at the mail room. Oh well. It should work out okay in the end.

I'm still planning to go to Soulfest at the beginning of August (for 4-5 days), probably Soul Jam later this month (which is only one day), hopefully the Weird Al concert on August 10, but we'll see whether that pans out or not - it's kind of expensive. There's also a weekend conference of sorts that Intervarsity has advertised called "Summit," which I'm pretty interested in too... so hopefully this summer won't be too boring, and I'll get a chance to do more than just work. I might also play softball for our church league, but I don't know yet.

Anyway, I hope everyone else has a great summer as well. I don't miss USM yet (except for the people), but I probably will after I wear out my welcome at home ;-)

Oh, and I saw Spiderman 3. It was pretty good. I still think #2 is my favorite though, which is rare since the middle of a trilogy is often where the story tends to sag...

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009