remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Melted snow [Saturday, Mar. 24, 2007, 3:44 pm]

Spring break is upon us now. I'm happy. Melted snow makes me feel excited about the prospects of whatever it is that comes after Spring break. Oh yeah, more school. Room selections, class selections. Fun stuff.

I suppose there's not an awful lot to say right now, other than that. But there are always things to say. Sometimes I'm just too lazy to look for them. Ironic that spring can make me lazy. I'm going to stop capitalizing "spring" now, since it's not grammatically correct. I just thought it needed some extra emphasis at first. I really think the names of seasons should be capitalized though. Perhaps I'll petition the Modern Language Association about that someday. Nah, I won't. It's just an interesting idea.

I'm going home next week! Probably just for 4 or 5 days, but then I'll be back up for Easter the next week. Wow, can't believe that's sneaking up so quickly. It seems like everything's been going by more quickly lately. Maybe it was just the anticipation for break.

In poetry class, our professor decided to pull another surprise assignment on us that wasn't on the syllabus. We have to "apprentice" ourselves to no-longer-living poet, and then read as much of their work as we can, and be ready to present on their lives next class. I want to choose Robert Frost, but I don't know if someone else picked him first or not. We shall see. In the meantime, I guess I'll post another poetry assignment we had - the idea was to write about a place twice - using images to portray different emotions each time. Hopefully it's obvious what I was portraying here:

Part I
A picture fell down from the wall,
And lay three days upon the floor,
Until it was returned, again to fall
Onto the foil wrappers spilled
Across the desk that's loaded down
With books and binders piled higher still.

The caffeine is all gone again,
The pages of notes are everywhere
And hiding under each, another pen.
This keyboard translates sloppy scrawl
Into something legible
And minus stains of coffee on it all.

The lights are dim, the door is locked,
The screen still flickers in the night,
As bugs against the windowpane are mocked.
The mug is empty, soon refilled;
Chocolate, coffee, inky stains
On paper piles that only seem to build.

Part II
Pencils straight,
Like redwood trees
Nestled in amongst their inky friends.
Lights are off,
The moonlight comes
Tall and darkened shadows cast by pens.

Sleeping monitor,
Blinking light,
No more work is shown upon this screen.
Pictures straight,
Chocolates stacked
Neatly in a bowl of red and green.

Humming fan,
Ticking clock,
A sweater folded neatly on the chair.
Papers crisp,
Sparse, but clean.
A timid night bird whistles through the air.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009