remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Snowcraft and Blizzardry [Friday, Feb. 16, 2007, 4:34 pm]

On Wednesday I had the privilege of experiencing my very first snow day at USM. Let me tell you, snow days are about one hundred times more fun on campus than they are at home. I ended up going sledding on one of the many hills on campus - on a cafeteria tray. I didn't participate in the pilfering of them - that was the guy in the trench coat.

It was actually a lot of fun though. We pretty much blazed the trail ourselves - the best part was making a "chain" of all 6 of us linked together. And then all the people with "real" sleds came out and started using the hill, so we went back to the cafeteria for hot chocolate. This is a vacation week and the caf closes tonight, so everyone has extra meals to use up, meaning it's okay to go in several times per day. I guess this means I'll have to buy some real groceries this weekend since I'm not going home until mid-week.

Anyway, we then went into the campus TV station (it happens to be in my dorm) and watched 4 movies, as un-romantic as we could find. So I pretty much forgot it was Valentine's Day. Well, Batman is slightly romantic, as is V for Vendetta. Pirates 2 really isn't, and Red Eye is almost anti-relationship.

At this point I'm just glad that I have a whole week of vacation - it seems to have come up rather quickly. I don't have a huge amount of work to do, but enough that I don't want to put it off for too long. So I'm going to hang around and work for a few days, then head home in time for next weekend, because I'm going to need to babysit my 3 youngest brothers for a few days. That'll be interesting.

I think I'm going to have to buy the game "Apples to apples." Some people here are obsessed with it, and I've seen how easily it can spread. I thought it sounded overly simple at first, but now I see how much fun it can be, especially with large groups.

The good news is, despite the storm, I still managed to get to the gym 3 times this week, so I'm pretty happy about that. I definitely take it for granted - here I can walk to it in 3 minutes and use it for free. At home I'd have to drive for 20 minutes and pay for the use. I hate how it seems so expensive to be healthy sometimes.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009