remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Dirt, and...a sad poem [Monday, Jan. 22, 2007, 11:41 pm]

This is Maine. It snows a lot here. And when it snows, the powers that be are morally obligated to spread piles and piles of dirt and grit over the roads and walkways. I'm not complaining, mind you.

But inevitably, the dirt coats every pair of footwear I own. Then it is transported from the walkways and roads of campus into the dorm, up five flights of stairs, down the carpeted hallway, and onto the floor of my dorm room.

Eventually this dirt then finds its way into my BED, and serves to annoy me every time I have to brush it out, attempt to kick it across the room and out the door, or even vacuum it up. It just keeps coming and coming and won't go away.

I think a broom might be more effective in this case. Maybe I'll add it to my list.

Anyway. You might just have to put up with more poetry than usual in the coming weeks. Hopefully it will be better than that crap I sometimes post. I'll post the one I'm memorizing for class, to test myself. It's by Edna St. Vincent Millay, and it's very sad, but not as cynical as some of her other works. She was from Maine too, by the way.


The spring and the fall

In the spring of the year, in the spring of the year
I walked the road beside my dear
The trees were black where the bark was wet
I see them yet, in the spring of the year
He broke me a bough of the blossoming peach
That was out of the way and hard to reach

In the fall of the year, in the fall of the year
I walked the road beside my dear
The rooks went up with a raucous trill
I hear them still, in the fall of the year
He laughed at all I dared to praise
And broke my heart in little ways

Year be spring, or year be falling
The bark will drip and the birds be calling
There's much that's fine to see and year
In the spring of a year, in the fall of a year
'Tis not love's going hurt my days
But that it went in little ways

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009