remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The school phase [Sunday, Jan. 07, 2007, 5:38 pm]

I didn't get my 4.0 last semester :-( I know I shouldn't be a perfectionist about anything, but the fact is that I really should have done it. I took a mere 13 credit hours, and my highest level class was 245 - it will never be this easy again, because I'm all done with core curriculum. I really have no excuses. I just hate knowing that if I'd worked just a little bit harder, I would have got it. I mean, this is USM, not Harvard. A simple paper grade might have made the difference. *sigh*

I can't dwell on it though. I only have a week until the next semester so I should try to go into it with a positive attitude. Fortunately, I was reminded again at church this morning that no matter how serious we take it, higher education is really a very shallow thing. I'm glad I'm going to college, and there is always an advantage in "knowing" more and holding a degree, but in the long run I will have more impact by being a genuine person and using the knowledge correctly, not by how many classes I take or papers I write. If I don't put education in its proper context it could actually be more detrimental.

College is life too. It isn't just some pathway to life. I wonder if that's one of the reasons so many kids go crazy in school - they think they're existing in some intermediate state of life for a few years and thus have a license to fool around for a while, and that the degree will somehow magically transport them into life once they graduate. Well okay, that's a bit of a generalization, but I'm sure there are at least a few people who are look at things that way.

And I'm afraid I have a tendency to view things like that at times too. Not that I'm irresponsible or crazy, but I sometimes catch myself acting as though this is some holding tray until we get into real life. But the truth is, I'm living now just as much as I ever will, and I'm building habits that will, for good or evil, last even after I have that "magical" piece of paper. Which is why I don't want to slack off. I don't want to wait until I graduate before I build up a routine, and do the things I want to do...

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009