remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Family [Friday, Nov. 24, 2006, 8:51 pm]

It's weird being home. I feel like I came back into such a different world, and will be going back into an even more different one. There's a lot of contrast. Here I can't get on my computer for long without someone looking over my shoulder. At school I can get on for hours at a time without actually seeing a living human being. At school I can watch whatever I want. Here I can't.

But then, at school I have to use communal showers, and I can't leave the room without making sure I have my keys and ID. I caught myself doing that here at first before I realized I wouldn't get locked out if I went to the bathroom and shut my door. I find it harder to do schoolwork here though, so maybe it's a good thing I'm going back on Sunday.

I hope everyone's Thanksgiving went well. Ours was good. My Grandfather had been in a rehab facility for a while before Thursday. I knew he had been in the hospital, but recently it was confirmed that he actually had a stroke, so it was good to see him walking on his own now, even though he's started using a walker.

It's a little scary. To be honest, I don't really see him that often, especially lately, but now that he's been "slowing down" a little, it's hard to realize that he's getting older, and can't do a lot of the things I always saw him do. It must be especially hard for my dad - to see his father slowing down like this - the guy who used to play with him and drive him everywhere. Both he and my dad are the "outdoorsy" type. That probably makes it that much harder to reach the point where you can't even drive a car anymore.

That's why it was so great to see the family members again. And to eat with them, and tell funny stories, and watch a movie (more on that in a later entry). I hear that at Christmas, my dad's entire side of the family might be over - that would be awesome.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009