remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Joshy! and fiction [Saturday, Nov. 04, 2006, 12:42 pm]

Okay so nobody told me Josh Groban has a new CD coming out - I just realized it last night when I heard someone down the hall playing a song of his that I hadn't heard before, and it took a mere 2.2 seconds (roughly) to draw me in like a tractor beam - a very welcome distraction from my Karl Marx reading. Yeah, I'm thinking I'll be getting it soon. I just need to find the best price - right now I'm thinking Amazon. And he even collaborates with Ladysmith Black Mambazo on this one - that will be an interesting couple of tracks.

I have a very light weekend of homework this time, so it's pretty sweet. Maybe I should get off my butt and do something.

So, creative writing. I got some good feedback from the story I submitted. People said they loved the imagery and word choice, and even the ambiguity of the narrator seemed to work for some people. And yet, the expected criticism came back that it almost functioned more like a dressed up essay than a true piece of fiction. So I was a little disappointed in myself for not working harder to change that beforehand - but I had no way of knowing how much it would need to be changed, so I decided to take the chance and find out.

So yeah, it's no fun to hear that your writing doesn't quite "fit" the genre, but now that I think about it, all that really tells me is that it can't easily be categorized - isn't that something I should be happy about? I think if I revise it well enough for the final, I won't have to worry about grades - but I shouldn't write for grades. I shouldn't let rules hold me back in areas of writing outside of class.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009