remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Nutrition at school [Thursday, Oct. 26, 2006, 10:51 am]

I remember back a long time ago, when I was a skinny 13-year-old, I used to think I was somehow immune to gaining weight. It was that stage where rail-thin teenagers can eat whatever they want and still be skinny, and so I guess I was a little too confident in my own metabolism. But now I realize that I need to take more responsibility with what I eat, and I'm trying to develop a bit more in the area of discipline. Because really, the less frequently you eat chocolate or ice cream, then the more of a treat it becomes when you actually do get to eat it.

And I guess it's also important to realize that every little thing you do or eat will add up someday. I mean, if you look at older people who have cancer or diabetes, you probably couldn't trace their disease back to one specific time when they ate something. But rather, it's a whole lifestyle of eating a certain way that builds up and eventually can lead to a very specific consequence.

I guess what I'm really trying to work on is having that mindset before I eat anything. This doesn't mean I have to give up cheese or salad dressing, or chocolate, but I just need to ask myself whether it's the best day to do it. Obviously at certain times (of the month) I'll revert back to my old pig-out-on-chocolate ways. But it's okay to pig out occasionally. I guess I need to start seeing nutrition as a daily thing, and not just a good thing that results from eating broccoli once in a while.

So yeah, that's one of the many things I'm thinking about today. But I think this will be a good weekend, because I'm going to try not to let the little, petty things get to me mentally, like they sometimes do. And maybe I'll find some time to get some writing in as well.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009