remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I'm loving USM! [Sunday, Sept. 10, 2006, 5:17 pm]

Interesting week, that's for sure. I'm still alive, just a little sleep-deprived.

I suppose I should summarize, since it would just take too long to go into details about things, and no one wants to read that much anyway.

-I have a work-study job, which I'm happy about. It was about 5 times easier to get than I thought it would be. I just went to the place and inquired about it, and was asked, "Good - what hours can you work?" It is indeed in the mail room, and the last half hour of my last shift (and only so far) was spent standing around and talking with my supervisor and co-worker. Yeah, you wouldn't get paid $8.50 an hour to do that anywhere else, but it's work-study - they want to give it to you, but you have to invest some time into it first.

-I'm living on the 5th floor of my dorm, which is substance free, so the people aren't too crazy, and I get a good work-out every time I go somewhere because we don't have elevators, which I'm actually glad of, because. . .

-My friends and family members gave me so much chocolate that I don't know what to do with it all. It's seriously 5 times what I'd get on your average Christmas. So I've set up a little bowl of goodies on my desk, and maybe I can make more friends by giving away free peppermint patties, I dunno.

-It's really nice being only half an hour (or less) away from the Maine mall. It's also nice that there's a free bus service for students, so I only drive when I have to. Some of my scheduling wasn't the greatest - Wednesday will be my "barely have time to eat" day. I spend 2 hours on buses because I have to go to Portland for a class, come back, eat, work, have class, go back to Portland for another class and get back at 10:30. But it's fun.

-My classes will be pretty easy this semester, since I have to take some core classes that I didn't need at UMA. Not easy as in "a breeze," but nothing too over my head - just time-consuming, as always.

-My laptop will not connect to the internet, since it's having hardware issues and can only do wireless. I want a new one.

-I like the food here. It's so nice having such a big selection for every meal. I'm going to be so spoiled now when I go home. . .

-Speaking of spoiled, I'm so used to living in tiny rooms that I don't know what to do with all my stuff in these dorm rooms - they're seriously over twice the size of my room at home, and I love it.

-And moving on to roommates. I was in a triple at first, with 2 freshmen who were really nice, but they became good friends pretty quickly and I tend to take time with these things, the room was kinda cramped, and I had to be on the top bunk. Fortunately, the room "broke down" rather quickly, and I'm now in a different one, with a non-freshman, and I really like her and her friends. Personally I would much rather stay up until midnight talking about meaningful subjects or watching "V for Vendetta" than go out to meet boys, watch "Saving Silverman," or watch roommate + friend engage in a pillowfight until 2 a.m. Actually, it was pretty entertaining, I was just tired.
I don't really have a problem getting along with people, but I want to do more than that now. Hopefully I will.

-I love attending free college sporting events. So far I've only seen women's volleyball, but the whole "school spirit" should catch on more as time goes by, and I find more people to go with.

-Some people I know were a little surprised to hear that guys live on the same floor as girls here. But really, it's not that bad. The doors all lock from the outside anyway, so it's really a lot like living in an apartment building, you just don't get your own bathrooms. And I've never been one to walk around the halls in nothing but a towel anyway, so it doesn't bother me. Yes, there are separate bathrooms - if that wasn't the case it would bother me.

-I had to change my cell phone number so I wouldn't have to pay roaming charges. It's on my facebook if anyone needs it.

-I don't know how long I'll stay here before I visit home. I hear you should stay at least a month, which I plan to do, but I don't know if I should stay all the way until Thanksgiving - that might be a bit long. We'll see. I seriously felt so sad when I first left my family, but now that I'm here it seems so natural. Probably because it is.

-There's an Intervarsity group here, but it's during a time I have class, which bums me out. I attended church today but was half an hour late because I got the time wrong. I'm hoping to meet up with some students next week to go, if I can find any, so I won't be so alone.

-I have to read Hamlet before Wednesday for one of my classes. I should have known I'd never be able to get a Bachelor's in English without reading Hamlet. However, we watched most of the movie in the first class and I actually liked it. Kenneth Branaugh (sp?) is amazing.

Okay, I think that's quite enough for one entry. I have sporadic internet access, but I've definitely tried to find my way on here at least once a day, and keep up with everyone else's writings. So I'm glad my little transition has gone smoothly so far. Now I just need to come out of my shell, meet some more people, and get to know the people I've met a little better. It always takes me a long time, but still, I'm glad I've met nice peeps so far - it's always easier to get through college when there are people who understand, and are willing to watch a movie with you when both of you should be working on homework ;-)

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009