remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

An odd type of countdown [Wednesday, Jul. 12, 2006, 1:26 pm]

I found a very interesting station on AOL radio: one that continually plays (in descending order) what have been voted as the 111 worst songs of all time. And for whatever odd reason, I really want to listen to the whole thing eventually, just to see what they are. I know #1 is "Who let the dogs out" which doesn't surprise me in the least. For some reason there's only been one Aaron Carter song so far.

I had no idea that the "fast food song" was a real song. I recognized it as one that my Rainbows group (the group that comes before Brownies in Britain) used to sing a lot - just the chorus though. "Kentucky fried chicken and a pizza hut, a pizza hut, a pizza hut, Kentucky fried chicken and a pizza hut, McDonalds, Mcdonalds..." As in, the leaders would actually lead us in singing it sometimes. It was amusing to hear the real version, but I can see how it would get obnoxious. Maybe they think of it differently in Britain.

One thing a lot of these songs have in common is that there's really nothing about them that stands out from the rest of the genre. Cliched language ("get up on yo' feet" "move ya body" "give it to me baby, yeah yeah"), repetitive beats, sporadic song structure, etc. A lot of these are big names, big sellers, but at the same time: sell outs. I really appreciate it when people make music because they feel led to make good music - not money or an image makeover.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009