remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Cars [Monday, Jun. 12, 2006, 6:26 pm]

Saw Pixar's latest creation yesterday, with four little boys. Well, okay, Timmy's 14, and around 6 feet tall, but I still consider him "little." Anyway - great movie - just kinda loud. Not quite as good as The Incredibles, but very funny, and had some good things to say. It almost seemed less of a kiddie movie this time around though. As in, my 5-year-old brother was getting restless by the end - I don't think he really picked up on a lot of things. It was almost more adult-oriented than some of their previous films, at least I thought so. (I don't mean "adult" as in more crude humor or anything).

I love how Pixar, like Gary Larson (of the Far Side), uses non-human things to poke fun at human behavior. Such as that very brief shot where you see a bunch of cars lined up for the bathrooms - the women's line is long and barely moving, while the men's has no line and they zip in and out rather quickly. That made me laugh. It's just little things like that which make you realize how much thought goes into making their movies believable.

I definitely agreed with the movie's appreciation of small towns - there was some quote, I don't remember exactly how it goes, but they said that a long time ago when people traveled, they didn't simply try to travel over the country to make time - they traveled with it. Yes, highways are kinda dumb sometimes. We all need to slow down a little.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009