remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Singin' in classroom...(not) [Wednesday, Apr. 05, 2006, 10:34 pm]

It rained yesterday, and we watched "Singin in the Rain" in movie class - how appropriate is that? I'm glad other people in the class liked it, but I don't like how many people seem to view it as simply 1950's escapist fluff. I happen to think it's a very clever, brilliant, intellectual movie. And I think I was the only one there who didn't think that the whole "Broadway Melody Ballet" sequence didn't stick out like a sore thumb. I see it as a piece of classic artistic film-making that goes along great with the rest of the film, because it also critiques wealth and fame, and basically frowns upon those who get into the entertainment biz for the money and lose track of singing and dancing simply for the love of it.

Okay, so I'm sure that made no sense to those who haven't seen it. Your loss. ;-)

Moving on... I will gladly admit that college is a racket, but I'm discovering that one of its greatest assets (other than learning new skills and getting that piece of paper at the end) is simply - connections. I've been able to enter 4 photographs into exhibits this semester, which I never would have been able to do if I wasn't a student. Plus I'm being taught by people who have been dealing with photography and photo gear their whole lives. It's not what you know, it's who you know. And you often have to pay for it. But that's life, I guess. I don't have the personal charm and ambition that it takes to make connections like this on my own, so I guess college works for me in that instance anyway.

Okay, enough ranting. I have like 3 books to read this weekend. Well, 2 novels and a play. Close enough. So I should get started now so I'll be able to visit Josh on Saturday again :-) And this probably wasn't the best time to buy "The Far Side Gallery 3"...

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009