remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

In the swing of things [Tuesday, Jan. 31, 2006, 11:07 pm]

It can be kinda crazy having all 6 of my long class meetings in the first 3 days of the week, as well as several hours of work. And the bad thing is that I have 4 straight days each week with no classes, so I tend to put things off and then realize how much reading I have to do. But I can't do that anymore - the semester is in full swing. As one of my professors said, "Just start reading now and don't stop until May."

And yet, I've felt several urges to begin writing my summer reading list already. I don't have time for pleasure reading now, but I think I should set a goal to read a certain number of books over the summer. College often serves to show you how much you don't know, and should know, and I feel like I should be challanging myself to broaden my reading horizons. All the same, I don't find myself eager to switch into reading genres that I'm unfamiliar with. I still prefer classics. I still like British love stories. I still like historical fiction, and the books that make you think deeply and laugh at the same time. But reading more books in the categories I appreciate still counts as broadening my horizons - I'm quite sure of that...

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009