remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Change is good [Sunday, Jan. 22, 2006, 1:00 pm]

Yesterday may very well have been my last day ever as a waitress. The diner place I work at is closing for the next month, and so I won't have to fill in for waitresses anymore. And after it re-opens, it will be more of a take-out place, since apparently it's no longer cost-effective to have a waitress at a place that serves mostly burgers and pizza. Which makes sense - I don't know of any other diners like that that employ waitresses.

So from now on the people can just get their own coffee and come up to the counter instead of expecting someone to wait on them. Maybe we should even be like McDonald's and start charging people to eat there.

So I'm not entirely sure what my schedule will be like, but I'll still be baking as usual, and when the diner re-opens I might be taking orders and running the cash register at times, I don't know.

Change is coming though. Sometimes I don't feel equipped to deal with it. I feel like I did last night, lying in bed listening to the wind blowing so hard. At times the walls of the house would creak, as if they were trying very hard to brace themselves against the wind. That's me sometimes - I just want to brace myself against the change rather than welcoming it. At times I wish I had forced myself to do things earlier - then it wouldn't be so hard now. But it has to come at some point. I know that postponing the inevitable will only make it harder rather than easier.

So I should be glad that change is coming. It doesn't mean I have to become a different person, but that I have to grow in order to keep up with who I am. But I shouldn't feel the need to keep up with certain other people - we're all different. If that makes any sense.

In other news - still not much snow outside, and it's the middle of winter in Maine. I'm lovin' it :-)

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009