remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Oh - it's December now? [Friday, Dec. 09, 2005, 4:24 pm]

I got pulled over yesterday for the first time in my young driving career. Yay! I feel so special now!

And how in the world did I manage to drive around for five months without realizing my vehicle registration was overdue? It's all my dad's fault. Just kidding, I should know how to keep track of these things too, and now that I've been warned, I will try to be far more vigilant. Haha, you should have seen the look on my dad's face when I told him he never got the car registered in July when it was supposed to be done.

I've heard some girls say that when you're pulled over by a policeman, the best thing to do is cry because then he'll never give you a ticket. I happen to think that's stupid. It gives all other girls a bad name. I think it's incredibly cheap and childish to use tears as a way to get out of things. Personally I'm not manipulative, nor am I a good actress, so I tried a different tactic:

Police officer: "I'll need your vehicle registration too."

I pull everything out of my glove compartment. Hmmm ... CD cases, scraper, operating manual, a bunch of miscellaneous papers etc.

Police officer: "It should be that yellow sheet of paper there."

Me: "This one?"

Police officer: "No, the other yellow sheet of paper. And I'll need your insurance card."

Insurance card? Hmmm. Well here's a card. Let's see - it says Insurance on it.

Me: "Is this it?"

Police officer: "Yes."

After discovering that everything about my car was registered in my dad's name, he came back and told me what to tell my parents about the situation. But he was very nice about it and didn't give me a ticket.

Okay, I'll admit, there was no tactic involved. I really knew hardly anything about vehicle registration or insurance. Of course, I knew it had to be done once a year, but... I don't know, it just escaped my thinking.

But not so anymore. Now I will take charge of my car so that things like this won't happen anymore. Although that certainly doesn't mean my dad can't pay for it anymore, but...

On a lighter note - I'll be off to Narnia tonight. The 6+ inches of snow we've received so far today should be the perfect context for the movie. If I don't return for another 20 years, you'll know where I am. And I'll try not to be too nit-picky. I'll just sit back and enjoy it, and realize that no movie could ever do the book justice anyway.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009