remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I got through it [Wednesday, Dec. 07, 2005, 1:19 pm]

Well, I did it and I survived. Thanks for all the good wishes :-) The 2 people I asked said I did fine, but they were probably just being nice. They said they couldn't tell I was shaking though. It's funny how the nervousness fades away afterwards, and you realize there was absolutely no point in being nervous in the first place, and yet it happened. I have to get up in front of people again tomorrow in another class, but it's a much smaller kind of thing so I'm not too worried about it.

It's odd, I used to have no problem with this kind of thing. When I was about 8 and living in Scotland, I played Mary in two separate Christmas plays, and in one of them I had to memorize and recite a huge portion of scripture ("Mary's song"), and yet I have absolutely no memories of being nervous. I don't understand why I've changed so much. Maybe it was moving, and being uprooted from a culture I was comfortable in.

Anyway, today in class we discussed Walt Whitman's "Song of Myself" for the second straight week, which bugged me because we were supposed to discuss Emily Dickinson today, and she got bumped over to the last week of the class. Sure, Whitman was "ahead of his times" as far as writing about sex, but Dickinson actually wrote poetry. Okay, it's not Whitman's fault that our prof wanted to pick his writing to death. It just annoyed me. I'm more traditional as far as poetry goes, I guess.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009