remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Work, school, and rain [Tuesday, Nov. 22, 2005, 7:41 pm]

I worked almost 8 hours today, because Thanksgiving is coming up, and I had to waitress while others cooked stuff for people who were too lazy to cook their own pies and rolls for the big day. I don't understand that - I thought part of the fun and family spirit behind Thanksgiving involved cooking the food yourselves. Maybe others are just different from me.

There's this guy who comes to the diner for breakfast every day, and he's probably in his 70's or 80's - but he's seriously one of the biggest flirts I've ever seen. I can't imagine what he must have been like in his 20's. He flirts with just about everything that breathes, and it's so funny! Every time that I've gone out to take his order, he's said something like, "gee I wish I was as good-looking as you when I was your age," and I think it's just the way he says it, but I usually end up standing there giggling like an idiot until he's ready to tell me what he wants. There's one in every diner, I suppose.

It's been raining cats and dogs all day. I bet you know exactly what I'm going to say next: yep - "at least it's not snow." I hear we might even get snow for Thanksgiving - that would be so weird.

Ugh, I'll have so much schoolwork to worry about after vacation. By the end of the semester, I'll have to participate in 3 oral presentations in front of class (*gag*), take 2 final exams, write a final English paper that's at least 8 pages long, a lab report, help write another final report, and put together a 12-image final portfolio in photography, which I still need to print, spot tone, and buy mat board for. Matting photos takes forever, and it's really tedious. Among other things. It would be so much simpler if I just had a final exam in every class, in the same week. But maybe I wouldn't like that so much if that was actually how it worked here.

Personally I find it helps to just write a list of what I have to do for each class - that way I feel so much more organized - a lot of the stress just comes from feeling like I don't have a handle on things, but when I can check things off and easily find out what I have left to do, I feel much more like I know what's going on.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009