remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Movies, and the Narnia room [Tuesday, Nov. 01, 2005, 11:49 am]

I just changed my picture, because it was time for a change. I took that one last winter, for class. This is a really good layout style, because if I want a change, all I have to do is change the image URL instead of spending hours re-doing the entire set-up.

Well, the family came back last night. The goats, chickens, and cat are all still alive, I didn't leave dirty dishes piled by the sink, and I was able to get all my laundry through the washer by the time they got here. So I suppose this weekend was a success. I had fun, anyway. I only watched 6 movies, come on. I still think I'll want to get a dog before I start living on my own permanently though.

And then yesterday morning I realized I could have spent more time on homework, but it's okay.

Halloween was good. There was a Halloween party at UMA last night, for kids to trick-or-treat in a safe environment, and I helped out with a group that was doing a "Narnia room." Beforehand we painted big cardboard wardrobe doors to put on the outside - there was even a bar with coats hanging on it for kids to walk throgh. On the inside there were Christmas trees with "snow" on them, a cardboard "Cair Paravel" front, and black lights. It was awesome - I can't wait for the movie!

I really should have dressed up, but now that I've been inside a local costume store, I know I'll definitely dress up for the midnight showing of the movie.

On a somewhat-related note, one thing I've decided over the weekend is that in general, I like "old movies" better than modern ones. For example, if I watch a modern movie that sucks, I've pretty much wasted my time *cough*phantomoftheopera*cough*, but if I watch an old movie that sucks, I've at least had something of a glimpse into America's history, and the history of entertainment in general. And I love history. So if I had to choose, I'd rather watch an old classic than something that has just come out.

So this is a rather long entry already, but let me just say that IT'S 70 DEGREES OUTSIDE TODAY, ON NOVEMBER 1ST! Last Saturday it was 26 degrees when I got up for work. Yay for Indian summer!

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009